International attractiveness

Perceived in the world as a Technological University that is already making its mark, IMT Atlantique aims to develop its teaching and research activities at the highest level on the international stage thanks to a network of selected partner universities.

International students at IMT Atlantique

IMT Atlantique’s ability to attract European Union funding, to provide opportunities for its students in the best universities abroad, to offer an attractive environment for international students to study in Europe, and to both coordinate and participate in international research consortia, are all evidence of its strategy for growth on the international stage.

IMT Atlantique is committed to fostering the internationalization of its teams and students by developing cross-border research and teaching collaboration. As a central element of the 2018-2023 strategic plan, internationalization is key in all of the structures, components and decision-making processes at the university.

We aim to establish and develop strategic partnerships with international universities in our core areas of teaching, research and innovation. IMT Atlantique maintains cooperative arrangements with universities of excellence, ranging from academic contacts and student exchanges to joint degree programs and offshore programs.

With a view to developing our students’ intercultural competence, we continuously strive to find new academic partners. Consolidating links with our partners, promoting research collaborations, and drawing on the excellent results already achieved are also key for our young researchers. The dynamic cooperation network with partner universities provides strong leverage for IMT Atlantique to become an internationally renowned institution and to increase its visibility in order to attract the "best brains" from all over the world.

International aspects of learning at IMT Atlantique

International campuses

On our Brest, Nantes and Rennes campuses, there are around 1,800 students in total, including, around 40% international students from more than 70 different countries. Thanks to this diversity, we are proud of the international feel of our campuses where students from different backgrounds come together in classes, projects, student societies and dorms, thus promoting an enriching cultural and linguistic experience for everyone.

The international scope of research at IMT Atlantique

With 54% of internationally co-authored publications, IMT Atlantique produces highly internationalized research thanks to collaborations with the world’s best scientific institutions and European or international research networks. Internationalization at IMT Atlantique is also reflected in its personnel, with 12% of non-French research and teaching staff. In order to further build on its network of collaborations, IMT Atlantique also hosts PhD students in co-supervision with international partner universities.

In addition, IMT Atlantique has developed numerous large-scale international partnerships including with the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) and the European Institute for Innovation InnoEnergy. IMT Atlantique has been involved in the implementation of large facilities such as the Pierre Auger observatory (Argentina), the dark matter research project XENON1T (Italy) or the SILECS project (Super Infrastructure for Large-Scale Experimental Computer Science).

Finally, IMT Atlantique also supports the industrial sector internationally through the development of joint scientific projects with partner universities.

« Bienvenue en France » LabelCampusFrance "Bienvenue en France" guarantees the quality of the experience for international students.

American researcher arrives at IMT Atlantique through the European Bienvenüe program
Christophe Lerouge: New President of IMT Atlantique
Applications for Master's programs are still open
Applications for Master's programs are still open
05.18.2022
Applications for Master's programs are still open
International relations: New perspectives in Uruguay and Argentina
Christophe Lerouge: New President of IMT Atlantique
Christophe Lerouge: New President of IMT Atlantique
05.02.2022
Christophe Lerouge: New President of IMT Atlantique
IMT Atlantique rises 6 places in THE YUR 2022 ranking of the world's best young universities
International relations: New perspectives in Uruguay and Argentina
International relations: New perspectives in Uruguay and Argentina
04.04.2022
International relations: New perspectives in Uruguay and Argentina
American researcher arrives at IMT Atlantique through the European Bienvenüe program
IMT Atlantique rises 6 places in THE YUR 2022 ranking of the world's best young universities
IMT Atlantique rises 6 places in THE YUR 2022 ranking of the world's best young universities
02.15.2022
IMT Atlantique rises 6 places in THE YUR 2022 ranking of the world's best young universities
Applications for Master's programs are still open
American researcher arrives at IMT Atlantique through the European Bienvenüe program
American researcher arrives at IMT Atlantique through the European Bienvenüe program
02.11.2022

Study abroad

Mobilités à l'étranger

Academic partners

Partenaires académiques

International admissions

Admissions internationales

Erasmus+

Erasmus +

Contact

Contact

Une attractivité internationale

Perçue dans le monde comme une Technological University qui se distingue déjà dans les classements internationaux, IMT Atlantique a pour ambition de poursuivre le développement de l’enseignement et de la recherche au plus haut niveau sur la scène internationale en s’appuyant sur un réseau d’universités partenaires ciblées.

Élèves internationauxLa capacité d'IMT Atlantique à attirer des fonds de l'Union Européenne, à favoriser le placement de ses étudiants dans les meilleures universités à l'étranger, à offrir un environnement attractif aux étudiants internationaux désireux d’étudier en Europe, et à s'impliquer dans des consortiums de recherche internationaux en tant que coordinateur ou participant, témoignent de sa stratégie offensive à l’international.

IMT Atlantique s'est fortement engagée à favoriser l'internationalisation de ses équipes et de ses étudiants en développant des collaborations transfrontalières en matière de recherche et d'enseignement. Élément central du plan stratégique 2018-2023, cette internationalisation est intégrée dans toutes les structures, les composantes et les processus décisionnaires d'IMT Atlantique.

Notre politique vise à établir et à développer des partenariats stratégiques pertinents avec des universités internationales dans nos principaux domaines d'enseignement, de recherche et d'innovation. Elle met l'accent sur les universités d'excellence avec lesquelles IMT Atlantique entretient des accords de coopération allant des contacts universitaires et des échanges d'étudiants à la conception de programmes de diplômes conjoints et de formations off shore.

La recherche  de nouveaux partenaires académiques est un élément clé de notre ambition notamment pour accroître la dimension interculturelle de nos étudiants. Le renforcement des liens établis avec nos partenaires, la promotion des collaborations en matière de recherche et les excellents résultats déjà obtenus, sont aussi autant d’atouts pour nos jeunes chercheurs. Disposer d’un réseau de coopération dynamique avec les universités partenaires apporte un fort levier pour faire d'IMT Atlantique une institution de notoriété internationale et accroître sa visibilité en vue d’attirer les "meilleurs cerveaux" du monde entier.

La dimension internationale dans la formation

Des campus internationaux

Sur les campus de Brest, Nantes et Rennes, c’est environ 1800 étudiants dont environ 40% sont de nationalité étrangère et originaires de plus de 70 pays différents. Cette diversité nous permet de proposer aux étudiants des campus très internationaux où se côtoient à la fois en cours, en projet mais aussi dans des activités associatives et en résidences universitaires, des étudiants d’horizons très différents favorisant une grande mixité culturelle et linguistique très enrichissante pour tous.

L'envergure internationale de la recherche

Avec 54% de co-publications à l’international, IMT Atlantique a d’ores et déjà une recherche très internationalisée s’appuyant sur des collaborations avec les meilleurs pôles scientifiques au monde ou au sein de réseaux de recherche européens ou internationaux. L'internationalisation d’IMT Atlantique, se manifeste aussi dans le recrutement avec 12% des enseignant-chercheurs de nationalité étrangère. Parallèlement, pour alimenter le réseau de collaborations, IMT Atlantique développe des co-tutelles de thèse avec de grandes universités partenaires.

Par ailleurs, IMT Atlantique a développé de nombreux partenariats internationaux d’envergure comme avec l'organisation européenne pour la recherche nucléaire (CERN) ou l’Institut Européen pour l’Innovation InnoEnergy. IMT Atlantique est impliqué dans la mise en place de grands équipements comme l’observatoire Pierre Auger (Argentine), le projet de recherche sur la matière noire XENON1T (Italie) ou le projet SILECS (Super Infrastructure for Large-Scale Experimental Computer Science).

Enfin, IMT Atlantique accompagne aussi la filière industrielle à l’international par le développement de projets scientifiques conjoints avec des universités partenaires.

Label « Bienvenue en France »La qualité de l'expérience des étudiants internationaux à IMT Atlantique est certifiée par le Label "Bienvenue en France" .

Catherine Hellio est nommée directrice déléguée d’IMT Atlantique
Collaborations franco-américaines : une délégation Fulbright accueillie à IMT Atlantique
Grand prix IMT-Académie des sciences pour Jean-Louis de Bougrenet de la Tocnaye, directeur du département Optique d’IMT Atlantique
Grand prix IMT-Académie des sciences pour Jean-Louis de Bougrenet de la Tocnaye, directeur du département Optique d’IMT Atlantique
17.11.2022
Grand prix IMT-Académie des sciences pour Jean-Louis de Bougrenet de la Tocnaye, directeur du département Optique d’IMT Atlantique
Forte présence d’IMT Atlantique sur les salons internationaux
Collaborations franco-américaines : une délégation Fulbright accueillie à IMT Atlantique
Collaborations franco-américaines : une délégation Fulbright accueillie à IMT Atlantique
13.10.2022
Collaborations franco-américaines : une délégation Fulbright accueillie à IMT Atlantique
Plate-forme Arago : un accélérateur d’innovation pour l’industrie
Forte présence d’IMT Atlantique sur les salons internationaux
Forte présence d’IMT Atlantique sur les salons internationaux
30.09.2022
Forte présence d’IMT Atlantique sur les salons internationaux
Catherine Hellio est nommée directrice déléguée d’IMT Atlantique
Plate-forme Arago : un accélérateur d’innovation pour l’industrie
Plate-forme Arago : un accélérateur d’innovation pour l’industrie
10.08.2022
Plate-forme Arago : un accélérateur d’innovation pour l’industrie
Grand prix IMT-Académie des sciences pour Jean-Louis de Bougrenet de la Tocnaye, directeur du département Optique d’IMT Atlantique
Catherine Hellio est nommée directrice déléguée d’IMT Atlantique
Catherine Hellio est nommée directrice déléguée d’IMT Atlantique
11.07.2022

Mobilités à l'étranger

Mobilités à l'étranger

Partenaires académiques

Partenaires académiques

Admissions internationales

Admissions internationales

Erasmus+

Erasmus +

Contact

Contact